Start website main content

  • Istituto di Scienze della Vita
  • Agrobiodiversity Lab

New group to boost European agroecology

Publication date: 04.07.2016
Back to Sant'Anna Magazine

A new association has been created to promote agroecology in Europe. Called Agroecology Europe, its 19 founding members come from 10 countries across the continent, including representatives from several ENDURE partners.

The organisers report: “Agroecology Europe intends to place agroecology high on the European agenda of sustainable development of farming and food systems. It wants to foster interactions between actors in sciences, practices and social movements, by facilitating knowledge sharing and action. It aims at the creation of an inclusive European community of professionals, practitioners, and more generally societal stakeholders in agroecology.

“Agroecology Europe is open to all individuals, groups and institutions interested in promoting agroecology, and aims to define its agenda through their participatory engagement. A website is being designed and will be launched soon.”

Those interested in becoming part of Agroecology Europe should email its secretary, Alain Peeters.

Founding members:

  • Belgium: Alain Peeters (RHEA Research Centre), Elisabeth Simon (Graux Estate pilot farm), Pierre Stassart (Liège University), Alexis de Liedekerke, Florian Delespesse.
  • Czech Republic: J. Moudrý (University of South Bohemia).
  • Denmark: Jørgen Eriksen (Aarhus University).
  • France: Stéphane Bellon (INRA Ecodéveloppement), Alexander Wezel (ISARA-Lyon).
  • Germany: Maria Finckh (University of Kassel-Witzenhausen), Marcos A. Lana (Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research, ZALF), Sabine Zikeli (University of Hohenheim).
  • Italy: Paolo Bàrberi (Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna-Pisa), Paola Migliorini (University of Gastronomic Science).
  • Spain: F. Xavier Sans Serra (Universitat de Barcelona), Eva Torremocha (IFOAM-Organics International).
  • Sweden: Erik Steen Jensen (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences)
  • The Netherlands: Jeroen Groot (Wageningen University).
  • United Kingdom: Michel Pimbert (Coventry University).

A first board has been elected to initiate and steer the development of Agroecology Europe in the coming months. Its members are: Stéphane Bellon (President), Alexander Wezel (Vice-President), Alain Peeters (Secretary), Paolo Bàrberi, Paola Migliorini, Eva Torremocha and Sabine Zikeli.